Wednesday, April 26, 2017

James Ingram – Lean On Me (MAW Records)

On the heels of his first collaborations with producer Quincy Jones on his 1981 released ‘The Dude’ album featuring ‘Just Once’ and One Hundred Ways’, the latter leading him to win the Grammy Award for Best Male R&B Vocal Performance, James Ingram opened his account as a solo artist 2 years after with the Quincy Jones produced album ‘It’s Your Night’ and its key track, ‘Yah Mo Be There’ along with Michael McDonald.
Although it probably stands as his most famous song (co-written by Rod Temperton) and eventually got him and fellow singer Michael McDonald to be awarded for Best R&B Performance by a Duo or Group, his two only #1 singles on the US Hot 100 would be another duet – ‘Baby Come To Me’ with Patti Austin in 1983, and ‘I Don’t Have A Heart’, this time as a solo artist 7 years later…
As an author, Ingram is responsible for ‘P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing’) which he co-wrote with Quincy Jones for Michael Jackson.
He then would make a quick foray into New Jack Swing in 1989 with the Teddy Riley produced ‘It’s Real’ (from the album of the name), eventually venturing into jazzy soulful/House territories along with Louie Vega and Kenny Dope on the 2001 released ‘Lean On Me’, with Jocelyn Brown and Patti Austin providing the backing vocals, and Selan on keyboards.

About indamixworldwide 2151 Articles
Story teller, record pusher, compiler & web designer...

Be the first to comment

Speak up your mind!

%d bloggers like this: